University of Calcutta in collaboration with Techno India Group, Saltlake Organizes
January 03 - 06, 2010 - Kolkata, India
Tutorial registration is open
Technical program uploaded
Venue information
List of participants accepted in Ph.D. forum
Registration is now open
Camera-ready Submission
Ph.D. Forum Submission Deadline Extended
Ph.D. Forum
Student Fellowships
ICDCN 2009 US-India PEERS Workshop Report

Best Poster/Presentation Award, sponsored by IEEE Calcutta Section Women in Engg.(WIE) Affinity Group and co-sponsored by IEEE Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (IEEE TCPP), is awarded to Srivatsan Srinivas (Lousiana State University, USA). 2nd Best Poster/Presentation award is given to Abyayananda Maiti (IIT Kharagpur, India)

List of accepted participants and Camera-ready instructions

ICDCN 2010 will host a Ph.D. Forum to encourage Ph.D. students in India and abroad to present and discuss their research with peers in their fields. This PhD forum is best suited for students who already have a plan outlined for their dissertation in the broad area of Distributed Computing and Networking. This forum will provide a friendly and supportive environment for doctoral students to present and discuss their dissertation research both with their peers and with a panel of experienced researchers from academia and industry. In addition to providing feedback and advice, this forum will provide an opportunity for students to network as well as to practice presenting their research clearly and concisely.

The PhD Forum will be an event consisting of short student presentations, discussion, and a roundtable discussion. Each participant will be allowed 10 minutes to make a short presentation. Thereafter, an in-depth and constructive discussion led by the panel will follow.

The event will conclude with a roundtable discussion, in which panelists will have another opportunity to provide general suggestions and advice to the entire group.

Panel Members   (Partial List)

Indranil Sengupta (Moderator), IIT Kharagpur, India
Mainak Chatterjee (Moderator), University of Central Florida, USA
Samir Das, SUNY, Stony Brook, USA
Krishna Kant, NSF, USA
Sriram Pemmmaraju, University of Iowa, USA
Rajat Pal, University of Calcutta, India
Nabanita Das, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, India
Sartaj Sahni, University of Florida, USA

Though this forum is primarily targeted towards PhD students, exceptional BS and MS students who have formulated a research project and obtained some good results will also be considered and hence are encouraged to apply.

Intended participants must submit a cover letter and a technical write-up. The cover page must contain the participant's name, affiliation, advisor's name (if known), theme of research, degrees obtained so far, current status in their degree, and expected graduation date.

Each participant must provide a 3-page write-up of the intended research. The write-up should be a concise description of the problem statement, scientific and technical approach, and the results obtained so far. Sufficient information should be provided for the review board to judge the merit of the research.

The cover letter and the paper must be sent via email to Mainak Chatterjee ( and Indranil Sengupta ( with subject line: "ICDCN Ph.D. Forum Submission".

Cover page and Write-up due: August 23 September 30, 2009
Notification to participants: October 15, 2009
Ph.D. Forum: January 6, 2010.

ICDCN 2010 will reimburse the cost of registration and round-trip A/C 3-tier train fare within India. Ph.D. forum participants will also be provided with free hostel type accomodation.

A Best Presentation Award, sponsored by IEEE Calcutta Section Women in Engg.(WIE) Affinity Group and co-sponsored by IEEE Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (IEEE TCPP), will be awarded to the Ph.D. forum presentation (Oral or Poster) judged to be the best by the review panel.

All submissions will be reviewed by a panel of reviewers. A partial list is given below.

Samir Das, SUNY, Stony Brook, USA
Nabanita Das, ISI, Kolkata, India
Debabrata Das, IIIT Bangalore, India
Vijay Garg, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Rajat Pal, University of Calcutta, India
Sushil Prasad, Georgia State University, USA
Sriram Pemmmaraju, University of Iowa, USA

Mainak Chatterjee, University of Central Florida, USA
Indranil Sengupta, IIT Kharagpur, India

Sponsored by

Copyright (c) 2009-2010, CU

              This site is optimised at 1024X768. Resolution setting recommended for best viewing.